Crocheted Mary-Jane slippers

I can finally tick something off my to do list:

Crocheted Mary Jane slippers

I made this pair of slippers for a friend of mine. Originally, she asked me to make her a hat, but it had to be cotton, not wool, though cashmere would probably be okay, but wouldn’t it shed? And it had to be tight. And have ear flaps. And be flattering. Oh, and she hates hats. She only wears them out of necessity, because she thinks all hats make her look ugly and stupid. Hmmm. What about a pair of slippers instead? I asked. “Oh yes. I love slippers.” she said.

So slippers it was.

I thought Mary-Jane slippers would be the sort of thing that there are loads of free patterns for, but I searched and searched on Ravelry and Google, but none of the patterns were like the ones I had in my head. Mainly, I didn’t want any seams, and I wanted the upper to be in double crochet all round, and the heel to be rounded… so I designed my own. And I wrote the pattern down so I could make sure the second slipper matched the first, and as soon as I have transcribed my scribbles, I’ll post the pattern here. UPDATE: here it is!

I took a photo of these last night to send to my friend to show her what they look like, and she emailed back saying “TAKE THEM OFF NOW – THEY’RE MINE”. I think she likes them.

16 Responses to “Crocheted Mary-Jane slippers”

  1. Mistuk Says:

    So i can knit myself a pair!?! I love the seamlessness!

  2. Brandi Says:

    i have been looking for a beginner pattern on slippers of this pattern i cant find them anywhere without having to pay for the pattern. is yours free, or where can i get a free pattern. theres 8 days til Christmas i just want to make slippers for the family

    please help

  3. Rosa Says:

    WOW thank you so much for this pattern, I have not been crocheting for too long and this one was so easy to follow….thanks again. Rosa

  4. renee Says:

    found your site again the one and only pattern for mary-Jane-slippers which is the best ever. thanks going too try

  5. judy Says:

    Hello, and thank you for the free pattern. I am a beginner, and I now have the crochet bug, however I am not that bright and do not know how to read patterns. It seems too over welming for me. I have made acouple of slippers from the u-tube videos. I was wondering if someone could do one for these slippers, and than that way i could rewind it and complete a pair, cause they look soooo cute, thanks:)
    judy

  6. heidi Says:

    I’m a beginner at crochet and sometimes I have a hard time reading patterns. So far the pattern has been very easy. However, I can’t figure out the dc2tog instructions. Can anyone clarify?

    • Brittany Says:

      Heidi-
      to do the dc2tog all you do is yarn over place needle through first stitch, yarn over and pull through giving you three loops. than yarn over and place needle through second stitch yarn over and pull through again to give you 5 loops. next you yarn over and pull it through the first four loops leaving you with two loops. yarn over and pull through final two loops.

  7. Juanita Noble Says:

    i DO not see the pattern where do I get it
    or how do I get it

  8. Norma Says:

    sweet pattern.any ideas on how I can make them for a baby?

  9. Kelli Says:

    I LOVE this slipper pattern! As I leave this comment, I have a partial pair sitting in my lap with hook and yarn…I’ve completed a pair and a half for myself, one for my 6-year-old daughter, one for my mother-in-law; and I’m still going…planning to make a pair for my 4-year-old daughter, my mom, and my grandma for mother’s day next week. Thank you so much for posting it – you’ve written a terrific pattern and the photos are great. P.S. I came across it via the Craftgawker app in case you wondered. :)

  10. Jessica Says:

    the ones i made are a bit too big for me on the sides, and when i start the rounds on the toe part, it doesnt look like the stitches are going in the same direction… any ideas why? thanks :)

  11. Jessica Says:

    i mean, the stitches on the toe part, half of them look verticle and half of them look horizontal

  12. jj Says:

    love them!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 252 other followers

