What happened when we went to buy a washing line

A couple of weeks ago my husband and I went to buy a new washing line. A Hill’s Hoist, no less, as I’ve heard they are the iconic kiwi washing line. We chose our washing line, trying hard not to gulp at the price, and took it to the checkout, where I asked where the concrete was. The shop assistant took us outside, then turned to my husband and said, “What kind of concrete do you want?”

My husband:”Quick setting concrete, please.”

Shop assistant: “Are you sure? It sets real quick.”

[Really? Who knew?]

He continued: “The problem is that you’ll need someone who knows what they’re doing to keep the pole straight while you pour the concrete.”

Me: stunned silence… maybe he hasn’t noticed I’m here?

He went on: “You won’t have time to adjust it yourself once the concrete is poured. You’ll be better off using normal cement, but it will take 24 hours to set.”

My husband: “OK, we’ll take the normal stuff.”

The shop assistant then turned to me and said, “Of course, that means you won’t be able to use the washing line today.”

Grrrrrr.

2 Responses to “What happened when we went to buy a washing line”

  1. charlotte Says:

    oh my god you really must be up in the far north eh!!

  2. Miss Smith Says:

    I know it’s not supposed to be funny about the washing line, but I laughed a lot. Sorry.

    Those toadstools are very lovely.
    Okay bye.

Leave a Reply

