I never thought I’d see the day

My niece got a magazine that had a free bouncy ball on the cover.  Once my not-yet-quite-two year old nephew got hold of it, it got filthy, and my sister chucked it in the bin.

A few hours later, my niece (who is four) ran into the sitting room with the ball in her hand, shouting, “Mummy, I am very angry with you.  I never thought I’d see the day when you threw one of my toys in the bin“.

4 Responses to “I never thought I’d see the day”

  1. dottycookie Says:

    I love the emphasis children use when they’re that small. My two do it and it always cracks me up – not always the most appropriate response but there it is!

  2. Katherine Says:

    That is hilarious! I love when little kids pick up expressions that grown-ups use all the time. It sounds so funny coming out of their mouths. One time, a little 4-year-old boy I was taking care of dropped a container of toys and they all spilled out. He said to me, “I guess I need to clean that up?” And when I told him yes, he said “Well, that’s the way the cookie crumbles. Or at least, that’s the way MY cookie crumbles.” I had tears in my eyes from laughing so hard.

  3. val Says:

    that is simply too funny!

  4. atypicalessexgirl Says:

    Your poor niece – her mother sounds like a real tyrant.

Leave a Reply

