Books I’ve read this year #18

“Northern Lights” by Philip Pullman.

I got a load of books for my birthday, most of them ordered from The Book Depository in the UK. It’s a great website as worldwide delivery is free, so the books work out cheaper than Amazon, and definitely cheaper than buying them in New Zealand. When I opened all the packages on my birthday (they send every book separately, so no chance of having to pay duty, plus you get lots of padded envelopes to reuse – two presents in one!) I felt a thrill of excitement seeing the pile of books by my bed waiting to be read. I hardly ever buy books in NZ, and I certainly never buy them in bulk, unlike in the UK where I used to pop into a bookshop every so often and buy three or six books at once whenever there was a three for the price of two offer on, which seemed to be pretty much every week.

So, I have a lovely big pile of books, and every day for the last couple of weeks I have been lighting the woodburner when it gets dark, then climbing into a lovely, hot bath and having a long read. Bliss!

This book was a gift from my sister, the first book of the His Dark Materials trilogy. She loved this book; I enjoyed it, but I wouldn’t say I loved it. I don’t seem to be loving any books these days. I’m looking forward to reading the other two books in the trilogy, though.

One Response to “Books I’ve read this year #18”

  1. Floss Says:

    I really enjoyed this trilogy and so did my 11 year old son. We went to see The Golden Compass together and were disappointed, it was quite a ‘sanitised’ version of the book. James said he wished he’d stuck with the pictures in his head…

Leave a Reply

