Books I’ve read this year #30 – #32

#30 “Heart and Soul” by Maeve Binchy.

I think I’ve read all of Maeve Binchy’s books, and I haven’t really enjoyed any of them since I read “Circle of Friends” in 1995.  This one was no exception. It’s as though she thought of loads of characters she wanted to write about, but couldn’t really think of a plot, so didn’t bother with one.

#31 “The Whole Day Through” by Patrick Gale.

Aaah, that’s better.  This book was so beautifully written, with interesting characters – I loved it. I’ve never read any books by this author before, but will definitely do so in future.

#32 “Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant” by Anne Tyler.

At the back of the Patrick Gale book there was an interview with the author, which included his 11 favourite books.  One of them was “The Woman in White” by Wilkie Collins, which is also one of my favourite books.  So, considering I don’t seem to be that good at choosing books for myself, I thought I’d read one of his favourites, and I just happened to have this one sitting on my bookshelf, unread.  Why have I never read any Anne Tyler before?  I really enjoyed this, sad as it was.  And I have another three of her books on my bookshelf still to read.

4 Responses to “Books I’ve read this year #30 – #32”

  1. booboobunny Says:

    what’s the other anne tyler? i have read one of hers and remember feeling a little disappointed at the end. not sure which one it was though….hmmm must’ve been worse than i thought!

  2. Calypso Says:

    The other ones I’ve got are Breathing Lessons, A Slipping Down Life, and Saint Maybe. I started one of them years ago, and couldn’t get into it at all, but I think now I’m nearly 40, middle-aged angst doesn’t put me off so much!

  3. atypicalessexgirl Says:

    Have you really not read any Anne Tyler until now? I recommend Saint Maybe and Ladder of Years. (You won’t like A Slipping Down Life if you didn’t like Tully.)

    Then again… I used to love all her books (you know me and the angst), but re-read them all again recently and didn’t really enjoy them so much.

    Obviously, I have had my angsty time and am now ready for a bit of happy.

  4. Calypso Says:

    No, I haven’t. You recommended one of them to me years ago, and I bought three at once, as they were on special offer. I can’t remember which one it was I started reading, but I didn’t get very far with it at all (which isn’t like me, as you know…) I will read Saint Maybe after I’ve finished the book I’ve just started. xx

    Oh, and that must be a typo in my comment above – obviously I am not nearly 40… 39 is your mid-thirties, definitely.

Leave a Reply

