Clanger!

This is the first thing I’ve knitted since I was 10.

Clanger

I looked on facebook one day, and saw my friend had written, “I wonder if Auntie Ce Ce can make a Clanger* for Iggy.”

Oh yes, I replied, of course I can, forgetting that I hate doing knitting. So, I looked on the internet to brush up my skills, and the gloriousness of continental knitting was revealed to me here. I love it! And short row shaping – who invented that? Genius. (This tutorial has a really clear depiction of how short row shaping works.)

And I love the Clanger. I don’t really want to send him off to England to live with my godson. I bet he hasn’t even heard of The Clangers.

Pattern here.

*The Clangers are a family of knitted pink aliens who featured in the eponymous British children’s television programme which debuted in 1969 and was shown throughout the 70s.

6 Responses to “Clanger!”

  1. Emilee Says:

    That is so cute!

  2. nevyn Says:

    I’ve never heard of a Clanger but he is so cute

  3. Ronnie Says:

    Very cute but the pattern link says ‘not active’ Would really like to have this pattern.

  4. Daryl Hopkins. Says:

    Hi,
    I have just the photo of the Clanger that you knitted in 2009.
    It is just perfect!!
    Would it be at all possible for you to knit one for me? as i have never seen another one as perfect as yours.
    I would be very happy to pay your price and shipping charges. I would also be very happy to pay the full price in advance.
    I would be so very grateful if you could do this.
    Many Thanks,
    Daryl Hopkins.
    P.S. I am a UK Resident.

  5. Dawn Chadwick Says:

    http://www.freewebs.com/1969clangers/knitted1.htm…..pattern is here

    • Roxanna Says:

      Fantastic page design, best of all page. The sole thing is, I’ve been developing a chunk of trouble raising this page, undecided should it be my conevctinity or what. Looks like other responders could possibly be obtaining the same issue. Basically info anyway! Cheers, Mate!

Leave a Reply

