Books I’ve read this year #48 – 51

“The private lives of Pippa Lee” by Rebecca Miller
“The English: a portrait of a people” by Jeremy Paxman
“Housekeeping” by Marilynne Robinson
“Doors Open” by Ian Rankin

3 Responses to “Books I’ve read this year #48 – 51”

  1. Celeste Says:

    Congrats on all your Christmas presents! Yay – and you read those books too? I haven’t heard of any of them – which was your favorite?

  2. UK lass in US Says:

    I’d be interested to see what Jeremy Paxman had to write. How did you like the Ian Rankin book? I don’t think that I’ve read that one, but I have read most of the Inspector Rebus series.

  3. Calypso Says:

    I was going to do a blog post about all the books I read last year, but when I sat down to start it, it reminded me too much of being at school and trying to write book reviews, which I am crap at. Maybe I’ll get round to it one day… The Jeremy Paxman one was interesting – as an expat Brit you’d probably enjoy it, though I think “Watching the English” by Kate Fox is a much better read. The Ian Rankin was also good – it’s the first of his that doesn’t feature Rebus, I think, but it was enjoyable nonetheless. I found “Housekeeping” too verbose, but I did enjoy “The Private Lives of Pippa Lee”.

Leave a Reply

