Hello!

Oh dear, I didn’t mean to disappear for so long, but the last few weeks have been busy, busy, busy. I hope you all had lovely Christmases. We had a beautiful, sunny day up here, and spent the day hanging around on the beach and stuffing ourselves silly with lots of lovely food. It was the hottest Christmas we’ve had since we moved to New Zealand, and was perfectly lovely.

So, would you like to know how my Christmas present making went in the end? Originally, I was planning to make 20 gifts, but one of those was a commission for a friend, and she said she didn’t need it by Christmas, which was a relief. I then abandoned another three, leaving a total of 16 gifts to make. And I got 14 of them made and posted in time for Christmas – woohoo!!

I made a lot of hats:

Two little hats for my god-daughter and her sister:

Two little hats for two little girls

And two little hats for my nephew and my godson:

Two little hats for two little boys

A much bigger hat for my brother:

Christmas presents (2)

And another for my brother-in-law:

Christmas presents (3)

UPDATE: the pattern for the hats above is now available here.

A Durango and Robin’s Egg hat for my step-mother:

Christmas presents (5)

And a modified version of that for my dad:

Christmas presents (6)

But I didn’t just make hats – oh no. I also made slippers. Three pairs in all – one for my mum, one for my sister, and one for my friend.

Christmas presents (4)

For my niece and my eldest god-daughter I made tutus using this tutorial. I couldn’t get rolls of tulle locally, so had to use normal tulle and cut it into strips, which took ages. I used 6 metres of 54 inch wide tulle for each one, and cut it into strips 4 inches wide by 36 inches long. But they came out lovely and puffy – I had to squash them down into really small packages to post to the UK.

Christmas presents

And finally, I made a hooded cardigan for my middle god-daughter.

Hooded cardigan

10 Responses to “Hello!”

  1. Tilly Says:

    I’ve just found your blog and have really enjoyed reading back through your posts. I love the NZ sexism, so funny! My cat is just like yours, begging to be fed then turning up his nose. I love your crochet – I can knit but crochet just baffles me for some reason.

  2. pom pom Says:

    Wow! Your gift line up is wonderful! Way to go!

  3. UK lass in US Says:

    Tch, I’m starting to think that I picked the wrong godparents for my two…

    Really lovely presents – and very impressive that you got all that done.

  4. dirringer nathalie Says:

    hello
    i’m french ! j’adore tes chapeaux (hats) et le cardigan !
    sympa les chaussons (slippers)

  5. Fiona Morrison Says:

    Just found your blog – love it. Should that have been a tutu-orial you used?

  6. Deborah Says:

    Just found your blog, via Boganette, and I love these hats. Can you point me to a pattern for them? I’d like to make some for my girls.

  7. CHARLOTTE BURBECK Says:

    Can you tell me where to find the pattern for the cardigan? I reaaly love it. Great job!

  8. Monika Says:

    Hello, first time here and loving it, very nice blog! Could you please tell me what pattern did you use for this brown and pink cardigan and is it the same one as the red and white stripe one? Thank you so much, cheers, Monika.

  9. Sylvia Says:

    Hello there from sunny Florida,USA! I was wondering…did Monika’s question ever receive answer? I ahve the same questions! haha! Our grandbaby is due in November & this baby cadigan is perfect!

  10. Sylvia Says:

    Oh my! I had to laugh at my typos! haha! I HAVE..rather than ahve & baby CARDIGAN! Not cadigan!🙂

Leave a Reply

