Finished!

Hat

Oh, I am so pleased with this. Look, those are cables; crochet cables. Crochet cables!  I expect everyone else in the world has been crocheting cables since they were toddlers, but they are new to me.  There was much swearing and unravelling of swatches before I got the hang of them, though that’s mainly because I was trying to teach myself to do them with the aid of a pattern for a swatch in a 40 year old book that said something like this: 1 RtF round each of next 2RtF, 1 RdtF into next RtF, then keeping hook at front of work but behind the 2Rtdf just worked work Cr5B….”  WTF????

This pic doesn’t do the hat justice at all. Obviously, the best thing to do would be to take a picture of it on my head, so you can see it properly, but that would involve not only washing my hair, but also blow-drying it, and either taking a picture of the back of my head, or having to put on make-up, and I can’t be bothered to do any of those things today.  Or most days, really.

Sock monkey

Oh dear, he’s a bit ugly, this sock monkey.  Never mind; he’s off to Australia where he can give someone else nightmares.

Baby cardigan

For a new little baby, born in April.  I’m hoping this is a size 6 – 12 months, so if I don’t get round to posting it off to the UK straight away it won’t matter…

Doll.

Yup, no change.  Still not finished.

And something new in progress…

Based on this Cath Kidston tea cosy, though mine isn’t going to be a tea cosy.  I’m not quite sure what mine’s going to be, yet, but tea cosy is definitely not one of the options.

(Sorry about the crappy pics.  Mid-winter here…)

16 Responses to “Finished!”

  1. Miss Smith Says:

    Crochet cables? Never heard of them! I am mightily impressed, and not just with the cables, but with all those finished projects.

  2. georgina Says:

    I love it!!!! I want to make a hat with crochet cables!! A time ago I download a pattern but it was dificult to me…. I’ll try again🙂 Maybe I could finish it and use it before the end of the winter!!!

  3. val Says:

    oh, I’ve never made crochet cables either……I’d love to try
    All your creations are lovely!

  4. Ruth Says:

    Great crochet work! I too love the cables – I must find a pattern to try. Then I don’t need to learn to knit🙂

    Can’t wait to see your finished not-cosy!

  5. Calypso Says:

    Thank you! I’ll try to decipher all my squiggles and write the pattern for the hat up soon.

  6. NorppaStiina Says:

    I love your blog! Do you have a pattern for the cardigans you do? I fell in love with the brown and pink one. It´s so beatiful. I´d love to make one for my daughter but i haven´t found a pattern. Any suggestions where i could find one?

  7. NorppaStiina Says:

    Sorry, it´s beautiful not beatiful.😉

  8. Calypso Says:

    Thank you for the lovely comments. NorppaStiina, I made the pattern for the brown and pink cardigan up myself, I’m afraid, so can’t help with the pattern, though writing the pattern up one day is on my list of things to do…

  9. Michelle Neddo Says:

    Super cute monkey! I’ve not been crocheting for long, but have never done crochet cables. Need to go find out how!

  10. keastfamily2006 Says:

    I love the hat!! beautiful! you definitely don’t see crochet cables very often most people knit them. great job!

  11. marzipandaizy Says:

    Your sock monkey reminds me of a spider for some reason. I hope his recipient likes him🙂

    I love your creations – especially your crochet beanies.

  12. Karina Johansen Says:

    Beautiful cardigan! Would love to make one if you want to share your pattern?🙂

  13. Frk Fogh Says:

    Love the hat! I have been crocheting since I was a kid, but only found out about the cables last year.. I had to try it out at once and made a dress for my daughter. It does take a while before you get the hang of it..

  14. Elaine Kidd Says:

    Your crochet cable hat is just what I am looking for, can you tell me where you got the pattern?

  15. Vanessa Says:

    These crochet cables are so much closer to the look of knit cables than any other I’ve seen!

    Would you PLEASE consider posting how you made the cable stitch, at least? Thank you!🙂

Leave a Reply

