Moriarty: two colour stripey crochet beanie

Toddler sized beanie made in Debbie Bliss Pure Cotton, colours 21 and 26
Christmas presents (8)

Toddler sized beanie made in Rowan Cashsoft colours 12 (blue) and 24 (pink)Christmas presents (7)

Men’s size beanie made in Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran – can’t remember the colours!Christmas presents (2)

Moriarty is a two coloured beanie, crocheted in a spiral, which means it doesn’t have a seam, but it does have a slight jag at the end of the hat, though if you do the version with the flower, this won’t show. If you don’t want a jag, then join each round using a slip stitch rather than crochet in a spiral.

 

Sizes

These are the sizes I use for my hats:

1 2 3 4
Size guide Toddler Child Woman Man
Circumference 45 cm(18 inches) 50 cm(20 inches) 55 cm(22 inches) 60 cm(24 inches)
Approximate length* 15 cm(6 inches) 17.5 cm(6.5 inches) 19.5 cm(7.5 inches) 21.5 cm(8.5 inches)

*if you want a longer or shorter hat, just add or subtract rows accordingly.

 

Materials

I made these with Debbie Bliss Pure Cotton, Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran and, Rowan Cashsoft Aran, so any Aran weight yarn should work.  For the children’s sizes you’ll need about  half a ball/ 45 metres of each colour, while the adult sizes use about a ball or 90m of each colour (sorry these are such rough estimates – I didn’t write down the exact amount of yarn I used when I made all these hats).

 

Stitches used

  • dc – double crochet (American single crochet)
  • tc – treble crochet (American double crochet)

 

Gauge

12 stitches and 18 rows to 10 cm or 4 inches measured over double crochet using a 5 mm hook, though it’s more important to get the correct number of stitches than the correct number of rows as it’s so easy to change the length of the hat if needed.

 

Method

This hat is worked in a spiral.  At the end of each round, pull the yarn through the last stitch so you have a big loop, as that will prevent you accidentally unravelling the stitches while you work on the next round.

Shaping the crown

To start: with your main colour, make an adjustable ring by making a loop with your yarn with the tail end of the yarn in front of the working yarn, insert your hook into the loop and draw the working yarn through, then chain 1.  I’d show you how to do this myself, but I accidentally ripped off my thumbnail yesterday and my hands are in no fit state to appear in photographs, but there is a good tutorial with pictures here.

Round 1: dc six times into the adjustable ring, then pull the yarn through so you have a big loop and remove the hook – remember to do this on every round so that you don’t accidentally unravel your stitches.

Pic 1: end of round 1

Round 2: Join contrasting yarn into the adjustable ring, pull the ring closed, then dc twice into each of the stitches in the previous round.  (12 stitches)

Pic 2: joining contrasting yarn

Pic 3: end of round 2

Round 3: 1 dc into each stitch of previous round.  (12 stitches)

Pic 4: end of round 3

Round 4: 2 dc into each stitch of previous round.  (24 stitches)

Pic 5: end of round 4

Round 5: 1 dc into each stitch of previous round.  (24 stitches)

Round 6: 2dc into first stitch, then 1 dc into next stitch.  Repeat until end.  (36 stitches)

Round 7: 1 dc into each stitch of previous round.  (36 stitches)

Round 8: 2dc into first stitch, then 1 dc into next two stitches.  Repeat until end.  (48 stitches)

Round 9: 1 dc into each stitch of previous round.  (48 stitches)

Round 10: Toddler size only – 2 dc into first stitch, then 1 dc into next 7 stitches. Repeat until end.  (54 stitches)

Round 10: All other sizes – 2 dc into first stitch, then 1 dc into next three stitches.  Repeat until end. (60 stitches)

That’s the end of the crown shaping for the children’s sizes.  For the adult sizes, continue as follows:

Round 11: 1 dc into each stitch of previous round.  (60 stitches)

Round 12:  Women’s size only – 2 dc into first stitch, then 1 dc into next 9 stitches.  Repeat until end.  (66 stitches)

Round 12: Men’s size only – 2 dc into first stitch, then 1 dc into next four stitches.  Repeat until end.  (72 stitches)

Body of hat

For the body of the hat continue crocheting without increasing for the number of rounds shown below.   On the final round, which should be in the contrasting colour. dc up to the last but one stitch, then slip stitch into the last stitch, and cut yarn leaving a loose end to weave in.

Toddler size: 12 rounds (to make a total of 22 rounds so far)

Child size:  16 rounds (to make a total of 26 rounds so far)

Women’s size:  16 rounds (to make a total of 28 rounds so far)

Men’s size:  20 rounds (to make a total of 32 rounds so far)

Then, with the main colour, dc into each stitch for five more rounds for the children’s sizes and seven more rounds for the adult sizes, cast off, and weave in ends.  You should have a total of 27 rounds for the toddler size, 31 rounds for the children’s size, 35 rounds for the women’s size and 39 rounds for the men’s size.

Flowers

Make an adjustable ring as before

Round 1:  9 dc into ring, and join round with a slip stitch

Round 2:  chain 1 (counts as first dc) then do 3 treble crochet into first stitch, and slip stitch into next.  *Into next stitch do 1 double crochet and 3 trebles, then slip stitch into next stitch.  Repeat from * to end. Weave in ends, and sew onto hat.

50 Responses to “Moriarty: two colour stripey crochet beanie”

  1. Deborah Says:

    Thank you!

    /trots off to get some wool and the right sized crochet hooks.

  2. Daisy Says:

    These are so cute and thank you so much for giving really great instructions. Can’t wait to get started!

  3. dottycookie Says:

    Oh, these are FABULOUS. You are so clever!

  4. Ann at KFI Says:

    Cute hats. And a nice tutorial on crocheting stripes with two colors.

  5. Star the eighteenth « In a strange land Says:

    […] weeks ago I found The Little House by the Sea, written by Calypso. She’s got a pattern for some perfectly delicious hats there at present. Kakariki engages in seriously seditious stitching at Radical Cross Stitch, and Sue Tyler crafts at […]

  6. Michelle Neddo Says:

    You are so awesome to share your patterns! I’ll be making these cuties for sure!

  7. Donnie Sancho Says:

    I completely agree with your tips. 🙂 There’s absolutely nothing more soothing than resting and crafting with friends.

  8. Rebecca Says:

    I love the hats but aren’t those single crochet stitches in the pictures?

  9. Rebecca Says:

    Nevermind, I just read the dc=american single crochet…duh.

  10. bekah Says:

    I found your blog last year and fell in love with your slipper pattern right away. I made all my sisters and friends a pair for Christmas last year. When I saw your original post for these hats I loved them right away but there was no pattern posted. I knew you had some problems with someone using your slipper patter on etsy and my first thought was, “Man, she’s never going to post the patter for these hats now!” I haven’t worked on my crocheting for several months and tonight I thought I would sit down and look at my favorite sites. Yours was the first site I looked at and bam, I saw this pattern. I got out the yarn I bought this summer specifically to make a pair of your slippers, but now I’m using to make a hat! Thank you so much for posting the pattern.

  11. Damaris Says:

    Muchas gracias!! Thanks a lot!!

  12. Kes Says:

    Going from round 7 to round 8 I get 54 stitches, not 48. Isn’t that right, math-wise? 36 stitches, plus two stitches to every-other stitch, shouldn’t that be 54, or am I doing something wrong?

    • Calypso Says:

      Hi Kes, on round 8 you should be increasing every three stitches, not every other stitch, which should give you 48 stitches at the end of the round.

  13. Happy day. | mixedbabygreens Says:

    […] jetlag, but tomorrow I’ll get a couple of hours to myself. Tonight I shall start making this hat for Small Girl, before getting stuck into the blankie within a few […]

  14. To top it all… | mixedbabygreens Says:

    […] is the lovely hat that I crocheted for Small Girl over the weekend, using the Moriarty pattern from The Little House by the Sea blog. Here’s the hat and the […]

  15. Sequeira Celeste Says:

    Hi,
    This scarf is beautiful Congratulations

    Best regards Celeste

  16. Patty Says:

    Way to cute! I will definitely have to try this. Thanks for sharing!

  17. Alison Says:

    Hey, these look great – thank you for sharing!

  18. Jennifer Says:

    I just finished the children size hat. I’d love to see the back of your hat to see if I ended the contrasting color correctly.. Mine just kind of ends, & then the trim color. It’s very cute, I just hope I did it correctly. Sl st the contrasting color then the main color crotchets over it & continues into trim?

  19. css and html tricks Says:

    css and html tricks…

    […]Moriarty: two colour stripey crochet beanie « The little house by the sea[…]…

  20. Laurie Says:

    Just made 3 for little boys — and they were too small! Love the pattern, I must have crocheted too tightly (even used an I hook). Starting all over now. But thanks for the darling pattern.

  21. Susan Says:

    I’m new to crochet and can’t wait to start this cte hat. What size crochet hook did you use? Thanks

  22. CROCHET | Pearltrees Says:

    […] Moriarty is a two coloured beanie, crocheted in a spiral, which means it doesn’t have a seam, but it does have a slight jag at the end of the hat, though if you do the version with the flower, this won’t show. If you don’t want a jag, then join each round using a slip stitch rather than crochet in a spiral. Sizes Men’s size beanie made in Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran – can’t remember the colours! These are the sizes I use for my hats: Moriarty: two colour stripey crochet beanie « The little house by the sea […]

  23. Friday Fun: Something new for inspiration’s sake. | Happy Handmade Says:

    […] Find the tutorial for this technique here. […]

  24. Donna Says:

    Love your work. I knit, crochet and hand sew, I especially like recycling bits into new items! Would you mind if I used any of your patterns, for charity? I make goods for sale for charity, it I donate made goods to the charity to use or sell. Happy crafting x

  25. Joan Langmo Says:

    This is the first time I’ve been here and your instructions are perfect. Sorry to hear about your thumb nail, ouch.

  26. isa Says:

    super bonitos los gorros !! graciiias por compartir el tutorial
    abrazos!

  27. Andre Henri Says:

    Wow! Okay I’m a bit of a beenie freak and have to ask whether you sell the men’s one at all? I am so taken back by the striking colours & styles, could order one for the wife and our 5 year old daughter

  28. Striping in the round, and a new project. « tolmema Says:

    […] I recently learned how to stripe in the round, thanks to Moriarty’s free crochet pattern. I made a beanie for Little Foot with it, but the colors I had on hand were more boy-ish, so it […]

  29. Kat Says:

    Sorry to question your pattern instructions, but it looks like SC not DC on your hats. When I try to make mine look like yours my stitiches are much longer looking. Can you help me with this problem?

    • Kat Says:

      I reread the pattern and I see where you mention the stitches.
      Your DC is equal to American SC I got it now. No wonder mine looked so different.
      The pattern and tips you gave are wonderful. Duh if only I could read. Kat

  30. Diane Says:

    What size crochet hook did you use? Thanks! Love your hats! Diane

  31. lizebeth Bonefaas Says:

    Nice hat. Thank you for the pattern and de photo’s. I made 2, one for the eldest daughter and one for the youngest daughter. You can see them here http://bonjoli.blogspot.nl/2013/01/nieuw-mutsje.html
    and here http://bonjoli.blogspot.nl/2013/01/en-nog-een-mutsje.html

  32. Toni Heyl Says:

    I have RECENTLY started a Face book group to make and donate hats to our local cancer center and would like permission to post links to your free patterns so that my volunteers can have access to hat patterns. This would make it easier for them to choose what style they want to make and offer a better hat selection to those who will be receiving our donations. My group is small at the moment but i hope to grow it quickly and be able to eventually make hat donations to other patients who suffer disease related hair loss. https://www.facebook.com/groups/344793072288291/

    • Calypso Says:

      No problem. Good luck with your venture. 🙂

    • Toni Says:

      Just wanted to let you know that I have changed from a group to a page. So anyone who wants to help out can join, all hats are donated to Sacred Heart Cancer Center, when I get more crafters donating I plan to branch out into donating to others who have diseases that cause hair loss, so Thanks again for letting me share your pattern. https://www.facebook.com/CaringCaps

  33. Day 29: Learning Crochet Round Up | Crochet Business | Guest Blogging | Crochet Blog | Crochet Jobs | Selling Crochet Says:

    […] Spiral Crochet Tutorial with hat […]

  34. Kris Says:

    Thank you for sharing your wonderful patterns, I have made several if your striped beanies. I have also just finished 2 of your toadstools and mushrooms. You asked that a photo be sent to you, can you supply your email address so that I can share my version with you
    Cheers
    Kris from South Australia

    • Calypso Says:

      Thank you so much for your comment, Kris. My email address is thelittlehousebythesea[at]hotmail.com with the usual @ sign.

    • krisglatz Says:

      Here is the photo I wanted to share with you. I love most craft, but painting, crochet and beading are my faves, so you will see that I have used beads instead of the embroidery, my grand daughter are big into fairies at the moment so they think these are gorgeous, thanks for sharing

      Cheers

      Kris

      Sent from my iPad

  35. Sally Says:

    I’ve made your hat pattern three times now for gifts. One for my granddaughter, another for a boy, and for a friend. Looking for an excuse to make another. Greetings from Oregon, USA.

  36. marvel avengers alliance guide Says:

    certainly like your website however you need to take a look at the spelling on quite a few
    of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling issues and I to find it very bothersome to tell the truth however I’ll definitely come back again.

    • Kris Says:

      Have made many beanies from this pattern, spelling mistakes didn’t stop them from turning out perfectly.
      By the way, your post reads “and I to find it”……doesn’t make sense, those in glass houses shouldn’t throw stones.

  37. Sabrina Says:

    I asked my husband what kind of beanie he wanted me to make him and this is the one he showed me and I was happy to see that he found one with a pattern. Your pattern is so easy to follow. I have made a beanie for my husband, my 3yo daughter and one for our newest little bundle due in January. I know I will be making many more using your pattern. I love it. 🙂

  38. Ancora spirali! | VioletaB Says:

    […] The little House by the Sea ci mostra come uncinettare una spirale a due colori […]

  39. Brendon Jones Says:

    I am sure you answered this question already and I just missed it. Is it ok to use your patter and tutorial to make hats to give to charity/hospitals?

  40. Alan Sword Says:

    It has actually been really one of the top blogs i have checked out. It was actually very informative.Looking forward for more blogs of this particular in near coming future

  41. Patricia Says:

    I have one question as to the size of the yarn that you used. I am making the hats for homeless vets. Thanks!

Leave a comment